Drivers Education Program


Summer Session Registration Dates: April 3-7, 2017

Summer class confirmation emails have been sent out. If you did not receive one please email

*We are accepting late registration forms please drop off at 815 Front Street or scan/email to:

Printable forms:
Program Info & Summer 2017 Class Schedules
Summer 2017 Registration Form

Registration Forms & Class Schedules will ONLY be available during the dates listed above. Forms & Schedules can be picked up at the Main Office of Helena High, Capital High, & PAL. Forms are due back by Friday, April 7 @ 4pm. *Students that did not get into the previous session(s) will need to fill out a new registration form.

Program Information:

PAYMENT: $295 for ALL students.  *We no longer have a reduced rate. Payment is Not due until you receive a class confirmation email (1-2 weeks after registration). NO Refunds will be given after a class begins.

Age requirements:
Summer 2017 student has to turn 15 years old by: August 31, 2017
Fall 2017 student has to turn 15 years old by: December 31, 2017
Winter/Spring 2018 student has to turn 15 years old by: May 31, 2018

All classes are formed in Date of Birth order with older students having class preference. We have a limited number of spots available, we do our best to fill classes the fairest way possible. We have hired on new instructors to hopefully help meet the demand!

All classes consist of:  Mandatory Parent Meeting, 42 hours of classroom instruction, 12 hours of driving observation, and 6 hours of road instruction while at the wheel of a Traffic Education vehicle.

Bring with you to Mandatory Meeting: Parent/Guardian Drivers License & a black ink pen. Two forms of Student ID: (Must be Originals or Certified Copies of documents) *If you do not have these forms of Student ID start the process of getting them. They are required to take the course.

  1. Student’s Birth Certificate or Passport
  2. Student’s Social Security Card or MT ID

Typical Class Schedules: Classes are offered at Helena High School & Capital High School. Students can register for class at either school but a parent needs to provide transportation. Fall & Winter/Spring classes are after school 2-3 times per week. Summer varies during the day. The individual instructors set their own schedules for each session so no two schedules are ever the same.

DRIVES: Students will drive 6 times either after school (on days they don’t have class) or on weekends. Driving time is scheduled by the instructor. We provide the Driver’s Education car.

Students are allowed 2 absences (make-up hours & homework are assigned by the instructor). Since class attendance is mandatory, consider family/student schedule: sports, vacations, jobs, etc. Third absence is an automatic “Unsuccessful”.


*Traffic/Drivers Education classes are not part of the school district curriculum.

*Students who attend high school in Boulder, Lincoln, and Townsend need to apply for Drivers ed there.

*We do not offer adult drivers education.

Instructors: To teach traffic education in Montana’s public schools, teachers must have an active Montana educator’s license, an acceptable driving record, and at least 8 semester credits in initial traffic education coursework taken at Montana State University-Northern.

We will do all communication through email at or call 324-2123.


Helpful Links:

Montana Graduated Driver Licensing Law

Montana Department of Justice, Motor Vehicle Division

Montana Office of Public Instruction Traffic Education

United States Social Security Administration (Social Security Cards)