Good News From Our Schools Archive

Posted on March 12, 2019

State HOSA

CHS students accompanied by Mr. Duncan and Ms. Bosch are headed to Bozeman this morning for the State HOSA (Health Occupations Students of America) Conference. 

Posted on March 10, 2019

2018-2019 Gatorade Montana Womens Basketball Player of the Year

Helena High BB Coach Eric Peterson announced that Helena High Bengal senior, Jamie Pickens, has been named the 2018-2019 Gatorade Montana Womens Basketball Player of the Year. Congratulations, Jamie!

Posted on March 10, 2019

Congratulations Helena High Bengals

Congratulations to the Helena High Bengals who achieved their third Montana State Championship in a row on Saturday night! Led by 2019 Gatorade Player of the Year, Jamie Pickens, the Bengals topped-off another spectacular season by dominating their way through the Montana State AA Basketball Tournament. Congratulations Coach Eric Peterson, his Bengals, their parents and families and all of the HHS Bengal supporters for this rare accomplishment!

Posted on January 4, 2019

Congratulations! AP Honor Roll!

Congratulations to the students, staff and communities of Helena High School and Capital High School for being named to College Board’s 2019 AP Honor Roll. This rare and prestigious recognition is based on both achievement and growth in rigorous Advanced Placement courses and exams.

Posted on November 12, 2018

Lady Bruins Volleyball Win State!

Helena Public Schools celebrates and congratulates the Capital High Bruins Volleyball Team on their 2018 AA State Championship!

Posted on October 25, 2018

Visit from Turkmenistan

Government officials from Turkmenistan recently toured the new Central School construction site to gain a better understanding of how to reduce the impact of earthquakes when building new facilities.  Tour participants included Dr. Ream, Superintendent of Schools, Kalli Kind, Facilities and Transportation Director, Mr. Ben Flanagan, Langlas Construction Project Superintendent, Mr. Dovletmyrat Baylyyev, Ministry of Internal Affairs, Mr. Merdan Guvashov, Ministry of Defense, Mr. Hojamammet Hojamyradov, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and Mr. Myrat Reev, Ministry of Health and Medical Industry.

Posted on October 25, 2018

2018 Let’s Talk About Great Teachers

Congratulations to seven Helena Public School educators who were surprised by the Helena Education Foundation as recipients of the 2018 “Let’s Talk About Great Teachers” award.  From the left clockwise the teachers are Christina Sieminski, Capital High Science, Manny Garza, Helena High Health Careers, Sarah Stankowiak, Four Georgians Special Ed, Ashley Fish, Jim Darcy First Grade, Sarah Urban, Capital High Science, Maureen Hunthausen, Helena Middle English, and Sam Leonard, Access to Success English.  We are so proud of each of you!!

Posted on October 18, 2018

Jay Erdie Memorial Mentor Scholarship Recipient

At the annual Montana Conference of Education Leadership held in Missoula on October 18, 2018, Justine Alberts, Literacy Coach at Central and Bryant Schools, was selected as the recipient of the Jay Erdie Memorial Mentor Scholarship.  The award is sponsored by School Administrators of Montana, Montana Unified School Trust, and the Erdie Family.

Dr. John Jay Erdie was a Montana School Superintendent who was well known for his efforts in mentoring promising educators into becoming school administrators. He realized the value of training and retaining quality principals and superintendents.

Justine will receive a $1000 award which will support her continued school administration work at the University of Montana.

Congratulations, Justine!

Posted on August 16, 2018

Bryant Book Mobile

Posted on August 14, 2018

Teacher Pam Murnion: Presidential Award Finalist

Pam Murnion, Rossiter 3rd grade teacher, has been selected as a finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).  She is one of four state-wide teachers selected for the prestigious award.  Her application has been forwarded for judging on the national level where up to two teachers from each state will be selected for the Presidential Award.  The two finalists will receive $10,000 and an all-expense paid trip for two to Washington DC.

Recent News from all Helena Schools