Educational Technology

The Technology Department supports the educational mission of the Helena Public Schools by:

  • Promoting equity of access to learning with technology tools across the district.
  • Supporting professional learning for district educators and administrators.
  • Maintaining technology access to powerful data tools that support the learning process.
  • Dreaming big with technology and encouraging students and teachers to do the same.

News

Minecraft for Education – Now free for all Helena Public School educators and students. Visit https://education.minecraft.net/. Click on the Downloads to download and install for your particular device. When prompted, enter your district email (@helenaschools.org for Faculty and Staff, or @helenastudent.org for students) and your district password to check out Minecraft for Education. Minecraft for Education is also available on all District owned Windows devices.

We are an Office 365 District!  As part of our adoption, students, faculty, and staff can download and install the full suite of Microsoft Office products on up to 15 devices (5 PC or Macintosh Computers, 5 Tablets, and 5 Smartphones).

Instructions for downloading your free copy of Microsoft Office are here: Student Office 365 Installation Guide and Faculty & Staff Office 365 Installation Guide.


Training on the Office 365 suite of tools is available at:

Gary Myers, Director of Educational Technology

gmyers@helenaschools.org

Shane Snyder, Senior Infrastructure & Information Systems Manager

ssnyder@helenaschools.org

Brett Hicks, Application Support Developer/Designer

bhicks@helenaschools.org

Trev Thomas, Technology Support Specialist

trthomas@helenaschools.org

Mike Tolon, Technology Support Specialist

mtolon@helenaschools.org

Jim Daanen, Safety and Security Developer/Designer

jdaanen@helenaschools.org

Uriah Yager, Help Desk Technician

uyager@helenaschools.org

Trevor Osborne, State Reporting Specialist

tosborne@helenaschools.org

Randy Parmer, Senior Systems Administrator

RParmer@helenaschools.org

Jake Atherton, Senior Network Administrator

PAtherton@helenaschools.org

Sherri Martin, Administrative Secretary

smartin@helenaschools.org

Kelly Stoner, SIS Support and Technology Training TOSA

kstoner@helenaschools.org